Following the release of his newest LP, ‘More or Less’ via City Slang late last year, Dan Mangan will return to the UK this Autumn, playing solo shows across the country including London’s Union Chapel.

In the interim, Mangan has lent his unmistakably evocative vocals to a paired back cover of Neutral Milk Hotel’s track “In An Aeroplane Over The Sea”. Commenting on the track he said: “I love this song. I wish I wrote this song. I don’t know if this song actually was written or if it always existed. This song was the first dance at my wedding. This song is life and death and beauty and fear and love and anger and celebration. I made this recording to be played at my wife’s Aunt Lauri’s funeral. I couldn’t be there. She was an incredible sculptor. She lived in Tucson and the first time I met her, I had just driven from El Paso with no air conditioning. My south-facing left arm out the window- absorbing a day’s worth of hot southern sun. I was young and inexperienced and hadn’t applied any sun screen. She spent the evening hacking at her aloe vera plants, wrapping my arm in fresh leaves. She was a kind, creative and talented artist, and was a life-long inspiration to my wife Kirsten, who learned from Lauri that she could forge a life in artistry if that’s what her heart desired. This recording is for Lauri Slenning.”

Dan Mangan’s European live dates are:

Thu Sep 19, 2019: Copenhagen, DK/ Ideal Bar

Fri Sep 20, 2019: Stockholm, SE / Bar Brooklyn

Sun Sep 22, 2019: Helsinki, FI / On The Rocks

Tue Sep 24, 2019: Erlangen, DE / E-Werk

Wed Sep 25, 2019: Oberhausen, DE / Druckluft

Thu Sep 26, 2019: Salzburg, AT / Rockhouse

Fri Sep 27, 2019: Vienna, AT / Waves Festival

Sat Sep 28, 2019: Steyr, AT / Roeda

Mon Sep 30, 2019: Winchester, UK / The Railway Inn (tickets)

Tue Oct 01, 2019: London , UK / Union Chapel (tickets)

Wed Oct 02, 2019: Guildford, UK / The Boileroom (tickets)

Thu Oct 03, 2019: Bristol, UK / Southbank Club (tickets)

Fri Oct 04, 2019: Sheffield, UK / Picture House Social (tickets)

Sat Oct 05, 2019: Halifax, UK / The Lantern (tickets)

Sun Oct 06, 2019: Glasgow, UK / The Hug and Pint (tickets)

‘More Or Less’ was released in November 2018 via City Slang and is an album that Mangan claims “feels more like ‘me’ than ever. More sparse. Less meticulous. More kids. Less time. More direct. Less metaphor. More discovery. Less youth. More warmth. Less chaos.” It sees him telling of having a family and the changes and challenges that has brought to his life with touching honesty and warmth.

Facebook Comments