Teddy has joined forces with ILoveMakonnen on spaced-out new single ‘Cupid! (Shot Me In The Dark)’, out now via AUTNMY Records.

Produced by friend and long-term collaborator Smokeasac, ‘Cupid! (Shot Me In The Dark)’ sees Teddy return with his trademark emo-tinged sound, rapping nonchalantly over a dark trap beat. Contrasting heavily with Teddy’s sluggish vocals, ILoveMakonnen delivers his rapid-fire flow on the second verse. The video for ‘Cupid! (Shot Me In The Dark)’ stars Teddy and ILoveMakonnen groggily clowning around in a dimly-lit apartment – further emphasising the track’s tripped-out vibe.

“This song is about searching for love in all the places that you know are wrong for you,” Teddy explains. “In the moment, it’s easy to confuse lust with love, but you end up going home broken-hearted. I made this song with my two friends and collaborators; Smokeasac and ILoveMakonnen. Despite writing together for a long time, this is the first record the three of us are putting out collectively. The energy in the room when we recorded was electric and I hope that people can hear it through the record.”

ILoveMakonnen burst onto the scene with 2014 hit ‘Tuesday’ featuring Drake, a single that would hit the #1 spot on the US R&B Charts and become platinum-certified.He has since collaborated with some of the biggest artists in world music, including 21 Savage, Gucci Mane and Skepta. More recently, he has released ‘I’ve Been Waiting’, a track with Fall Out Boy and the late Lil Peep, which has received gold status   

Looking forward, Teddy has been announced to perform at the renowned Reading & Leeds festivals next month. This will be his debut UK festival performance before joining forces with Smokeasac for their joint European Headline Tour. Kicking off on 27th September in Cologne, audiences can look forward to charismatic performances and witness the infectious energy of both artists amongst an exhilarating atmosphere.

Teddy Upcoming Tour Dates

Saturday 24th August – Reading Festival – Reading, UK
Sunday 25th August – Leeds Festival – Leeds, UK
Tuesday 27th August – MTC – Cologne, Germany
Thursday 29th August – Loppen – Denmark, Copenhagen
Friday 30th August – Monarch – Berlin, Germany
Saturday 31st August – CHMURY – Warsaw, Poland
Monday 2nd September – Kultura Klub – Bratislava, Slovakia
Tuesday 3rd September – Das Werk – Vienna, Austria
Wednesday 4th September – Dürer Kert – Budapest, Hungary
Friday 6th September – Kino Siska – Ljubljana, Slovenia
Saturday 7th September – Ohibo – Milan, Italy
Sunday 8th September – Exil – Zurich, CH
Wednesday 11th September – Patronaat – Haarlem, Netherlands
Thursday 12th September – Kavka VZW – Antwerp, Belgium
Saturday 14th September – 1999 – Paris, France

Facebook Comments